Transmedia Project

Background:
As often as I can I try and excersice, way I do this are going for bush walks and hikes. The stimulating environment and watching nature around me encourages my creative thinking and is constantly giving me ideas for projects.
I wanted to document one of the spots I frequent, Lightening Hill, a lookout about five minutes from my house.
Over the last year that I’ve been walking there I’ve seen crazy amounts of rubbish and dumped debris there. From couches to car doors. The day I chose to film my footage was stormy and hot, I was still unsure as to what direction I was taking with the film clip, wheather it be an advertisment for a horror movie, my favorite genre, or an add for a workout and active wear company. As I walked along I noticed the rubbish I’d seen so many times before, cans, lighters, plastic bags, bottles.
I decided then that this would be a conservation and preservation campaigne and an advertisment for the fictinal company “Wilderness Warriors” very similar to a charity group I currently support- The Wilderness Society, that does active work to preserve Australian flora and fauna.

Process:
I took footage of Lightening Hill and edited them to create a promotional video. Using my camera and premier to edit. The video runs for roughly 3minutes and features close ups of flowers, branches and then close ups of the rubbish surrounding them, also a wide shot of the view from the top of the hill.
Towards the end of the video it features a butterfly on a flower which eventually flies away.
I then used stills from the video to create banners and inserted sentences:
Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 10.12.59 amScreen Shot 2015-10-21 at 10.13.34 amScreen Shot 2015-10-21 at 10.13.09 amThese feature at the end of the video directing people to the website.
I also created a facebook account, its widely known that majority of people use or have a facebook account and its one of the most popular ways for businesses to get in contact with their audience and target market.
Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 10.18.07 amI also created merch to sell which displays the Wilderness Warrior logo and would promote the business further.
I created badges and a T-shirt.
Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 2.17.08 pmScreen Shot 2015-10-20 at 1.40.37 pm

To help get this business going and to promote it further I’d employ or ask volunteers to wear the t-shirts and hand out flyers and give free badges at uni and possibly give talks at local primary schools about preservation and the environment. I’d also push to have the advert played close to Earth Day and Clean Up Australia Day.

Here is the Advert Enjoy:
Wilderness Warrior Advertisement

Leave a comment