Where do I want to be in 4 years?

I’ve always thought about what I want to do in the future but felt everything was so unattainable and far out of reach. With this first assignment being told to explore where I want to go and figure out the pathways of how I’ll get there was exciting but daunting.
My dream has always been to run my own studio space and gallery that doubles as a creative environment for makers and thinkers but then runs as an entertainment and performance space at night.
With events running in the evening and possibly classes and tours running in the day.
Unsure how realistic of a dream this is, it’s where I’m starting:

So after finishing this fine arts course (making the assumption that all goes according to plan) my next step would be to move to Melbourne and look at getting involved in some of the co-op art spaces down there.
Some of the art spaces I’ve been to in Melbourne that I’d like to get involved with have been The Liberty Social they are a club but also a gallery space. I’d get involved with them by helping out with gallery shows and setting up for events, possibly working in the club at night and getting an idea of how things are run and what the process of owning and running a successful club and gallery space is. I’d be learning about promotion and art as well as the business side of things.
Another melbourne establishment I looked into and that would be perfect experience and networking was Brunswick Street Gallery they promote exhibitions for up and coming artists, so the knowledge I’d gain from them and the connections would be invaluable. Their website boasting to provide “integral opportunities for emerging artists as they develop their ongoing professional careers” and their volunteer program is excellent and would provide me experience in set up exhibitions and perform other tasks related to the gallery.
In the process of looking at living in Sydney eventually I looked up some Sydney based studios and galleries. I was able to find a great looking and very inspirational space in Attitude Studios a studio and gallery company offering locations all over Australian in Vic, NSW and QLD. I’d get connected to the Melbourne branch and then work my way to hopefully moving to the company in Sydney. Looking more at Sydney I found  The Nest a creative art space that is rented out to artists and used as studio space and gallery space. Connecting with them would allow me to get settled in Sydney and make more meaningful connections with the artists in the area, allowing me to build up my back-catalog of possible future clients when I open my own gallery space.
Another business in Sydney I would be interested in collaborating with once I have the experience would be Wasted Years a bar and club that specializes in art battles and art nights. I’ve always wanted to get involved in something like this so working there or volunteering would be ideal.

Leave a comment